Horror.com Forums - Talk about horror.

Horror.com Forums - Talk about horror. (https://www.horror.com/forum/index.php)
-   Books & Fiction Writing (https://www.horror.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Struggling author based in the UK (https://www.horror.com/forum/showthread.php?t=65602)

JacobCain1971 02-04-2015 02:41 AM

Struggling author based in the UK needs YOUR help!

4 Attachment(s)
Hi all,

I am a struggling author based in the UK hoping to reach out further afield.
I have over the recent months had a few FREE kindle promos, and done quite well in the US with number of downloads - yet have never come close to breaking into that market. For example, it's such a rarity for me to gain a review that when I do, I call for a National Holiday!

Does anyone have any ideas (experiences) of how to make an impact into the US market?

Also, please take a quick look at my album with book covers in, and, if possible, offer comments (good or bad) about style/quality/interest/etc . . .

Finally, may I ask how many of you really read FREE kindle downloads, or like me, do you still prefer a good old-fashioned paperback?!

All the best,

Paul

TeddyFreddy 02-04-2015 02:59 AM

Hi, i quite regularly reed the free kindle books as some of the new up and coming authors have some excellent ideas and new twists.

if the stories are half as good as the covers then i bet they are great.

as far as breaking the market i cant really help there but wish you all the best, just stick with it.

do you have any out in paperback form, my kindle is sadly no more??

all the best

mike

JacobCain1971 02-04-2015 03:13 AM

Thanks

Hi TeddyFreddy,

Thanks for the reply. Good to know that you've actually read the FREE kindles.

Yes, I do have 4 paperbacks out (www.paulcavebooks.com) and 5 kindles. I do 'okay' in the UK, and usually get positive reviews/feedback. But nothing Stateside (or fairly negative comments).