Go Back   Horror.com Forums - Talk about horror. > Horror.com Lobby > Horror.com General Forum
Register FAQ Community Calendar

Old 07-18-2009, 10:05 AM
HDC Sole Survivor!!

Nightmares? Fear of Sleep?

I just lisetened to a erally interesting and odd episode of "This American Life" on NPR and it was all about people who fear sleep.

One complained about being scarred by having walked in on friend's parents having sex (and not understanding it) while attending a sleepover. Another confronted his own father about letting him watch THE SHINING with him late at night when he was six years old.

***SIDE NOTE***
Personally I don't know why either of these things would upset any but the most repressed personalities. My own children know about sex and death and the difference between fantasy & reality and they love watching horror movies with me with no ill effects.

I tend to have nightmares maybe a half dozen times a year, but being a writer, I appreciate them (after the fact) as a wonderful tool, so I wouldn't consider a problem.

How about all of you?

Nightmares?

Fear of sleep?

"A man that studieth revenge keeps his own wounds green, which otherwise would heal and do well."
Francis Bacon
Old 07-18-2009, 10:19 AM
For Vendetta

Other than the occasional once-in-a-full-moon one about big, hairy raging beasts ripping human flesh apart and loud howling...

...none.

I sleep like a log, and through bombs exploding. Maybe its because my whole day makes me tired as heck by the time I hit the pillows.

Most of the nights its a long, dreamless sleep.
And most of the days are nightmares...
Old 07-18-2009, 10:24 AM
No charge for awesomeness

I smoke too much and never remember my dreams, good or bad. *shrug*
Old 07-18-2009, 11:24 AM
Evil Dead

Send a message via MSN to jenna26